Friendly large category planes

Hello,
I am very new to Aviatife. I’ve been flying the King Air 350i and having a blast. I want to move into the ‘Large’ category planes next and not sure about which one to start with. They seem a bit more complicated then the medium ones.

Suggestions welcome.

Glad to see the forms back!!
Thank you.

Hi @YarZor !
after the King Air 350i I moved to the CJ4.
The biggest changes that I noticed when moving from King Air 350 were:

• being a jet, CJ4 achieves very fast climbs, e.g. 6000 feet/min after takeoff (a nice change!)
  • the displays (PFD and the others) which are different from G1000 of previous aircrafts and more like the “big boys” (Heavies). In particular, there is no terrain view with perspective, only a top down view of terrain altitudes with colors to show if your getting too low.

As for the rest, the logic is similar (NAV, HDG, ALT, FLC, etc).

The CJ4 has also detents (preset levels for thrust on the thrust lever) but no autothrust, so you will still find yourself regulating thrust manually like previous planes.

I reccomend installing the Working Title Cessna CJ4 Citation mod, which improves the plane.

1 Like

Thanks for the great info! I’ve been watching CJ4 videos, and had some successful landings with it in MSFS. Time to get a few missions done with it.

I felt like I was just getting used to the G1000. :frowning: But from the videos, the new systems are way better, I just have to learn them.

Expensive to rent compared the the 350i. Having a similar payload, but can travel much further. The best fit for this aircraft would be longer nm missions?

I downloaded the mod, thank you. I didn’t realize a lot of the mods/planes are free. Thank you to the community.

Job wise, the King Air 350i is really… a King!
If I recall correctly you can easily expect like a $5000 profit per hour of flying in King Air.

CJ4 is a lot more expensive, but it is way faster with a slight better payload.